Women's Ashes: Megan Schutt, Jess Jonassen return, Australia announces lineup - Sports1
Cricket News

Women’s Ashes: Megan Schutt, Jess Jonassen return, Australia announces lineup

Wednesday, Australian Cricket (CA) Announced upcoming multi-format 15-man squad Women’s Ashes v England, scheduled to start with the first T20I in Adelaide on January 20.

Rookie Spinner King of Alana already selected before other leg spinners Amanda Emerald Wellington in clothing.King won 16 wickets for the title in the recently concluded Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) Perth Heat.

senior player Jess Jonathan and Megan Schutter They made a comeback in the squad after missing the series against India due to injury and parental leave respectively. Schutt has 204 international wickets in 142 games, while Jonathan has 192 wickets in 162 games.

However, the host will miss Wareham, Georgia (ACL injury) and Sophie Molyneux (foot injury), who was injured.

“It’s been a tough selection process with so many players coming out of a strong WBBL competition, but we believe we’ve selected a balanced, well-rounded squad with players who can perform well in all three formats, “ say country selector Sean Flagler as quoted cricket net.

“Georgia Wareham’s injury has given Alana King the opportunity to demonstrate what she can do at this level, having improved in every aspect of her game over the past few seasons, she is fully capable of playing here. play an important role in the game. The series,” He added.

Notably, Australia has remained in the ashes since a 10-6 victory in England in 2015. Then, Australia ended the 2017 series with an 8-8 draw before Australia beat England 12-4 in 2019.

The multi-format Ashes starts with three three-match T20I series, followed by a single test match, followed by a three-match ODI stage. In terms of the points system, T20I and ODI wins will be awarded 2 points each, while Test wins will be awarded 4 points.

Here’s the Australian Women’s Ashes team:

Meg Lanning (captain), Darcy Brown, Nicola Kelly, Hannah Darlington, Ashley Gardner, Rachel Haynes, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonathan, Alana King, Talia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Alice Perry, Megan Shuter, Annabel Sutherland, Tyra Vlaminck.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button