Cricket News

Shreyas Iyer received Sunil Gavaskar’s Indian test cap before the first test in Kanpur and New Zealand

Shreyas Iyer became the 303th representative India In the test of cricket he was selected to face at eleven new Zealand In the first test of a two-game series at Green Park in Kanpur on Thursday.

At the press conference the day before the game, Indian captain Ajinkya Rahane conducted the first test in the absence of Virat Kohli, and he confirmed that Shreyas Iyer will make his first test debut.

Before throwing the ball, Shreyas Iyer received his first hat from the legendary Indian batsman and former captain Sunil Gavaskar. Gavaska said some wise words to the rookie, who stood in the team with head coach Rahul Dravid.

Shireas Ayre[photo: Twitter]

The 26-year-old player kissed his hat before putting it on, and the other players congratulated him.

Watch – Shreyas Iyer receives his Indian test cap from Sunil Gavaskar

Shreyas Iyer will occupy the middle position in the absence of Virat Kohli, who was resting in the first test, and Hanuma Vihari, who was sent to India A South Africa. After KL Rahul was injured, Iyer was selected instead of Suryakumar Yadav, who later joined the testing team.

The right shooter has an excellent first-class record-he scored 4592 points in 54 first-class games, averaging 52.18 points per game and shooting 81.54 from the field. Shreyas Iyer defeated 12 centuries and 23 fifties in these games.

Ajinkya Rahane wins the throw and chooses to hit the ball first; India plays with three spinning machines

Ajinkya Rahane won the toss and chose to hit the ball first in Kanpur. He announced that the Indian team will send a powerful spinning trio consisting of Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, and Ravichandran Ashwin, and two senior walkers-Ishant Sharma and Umesh Yadav-will support them.

In the absence of Rohit Sharma (rest) and KL Rahul (injury), Shubman Gill and Mayank Agarwal were the openers, and Wriddhiman Saha won a game during Rishabh Pant’s break.

Akinka Rahani
Aginka Rahane.Picture-Twitter

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson made several bold decisions, not including Neil Wagner and Mitchell Santner. Instead, spin bowling all-around player Rachin Ravindra will make his debut and will team up with spin bowlers Ajaz Patel and Will Somerville. Tim Southee and Kyle Jamieson are the two walkers.

India: Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (c), Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav

new Zealand: Tom Latham, Will Young, Kane Williamson (c), Rose Taylor, Henry Nichols, Tom Blundell (week), Lachin Lavender, Kyle Jamison, Will Somerville, Tim Southey, Ajaz Patel

Please also read: IPL 2022: MS Dhoni will be retained by CSK for the next three seasons, Rishabh Pant will continue to lead the Delhi capital-report

s.parentNode.insertBefore(t,s)}(window, document,’script’,
fbq(‘init’, ‘944637919386237’);
fbq(‘track’, ‘PageView’);

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button