KL Rahul and Rishabh Pant compete for the role of ODI deputy captain - Sports1
Cricket News

KL Rahul and Rishabh Pant compete for the role of ODI deputy captain

After Rohit Sharma is promoted to captain, India’s T20I deputy captain KL Rahul may also become the deputy captain of the ODI team.

On Wednesday, BCCI announced that the selection team had decided to formally appoint Rohit as the captain of ODI, thus giving him control of the white ball game system. According to a TOI report, he is now the captain, and the position of deputy captain is likely to be filled by Rahul.

KL Rahul. (Photo: BCCI)

It is important to maintain a balance. The selector is not for drastic changes. But the team management and selection staff are keen to let young players play a more important role in the future.Although Rahul is the leader of the ODI deputy captain, he is definitely regarded as an important part of the leadership team because he is already Rohit’s deputy in the T20Is,” a source told TOI.

Both Rahul and Pant are the captains of their respective teams for the 2021 IPL season. Although Pant has been retained by the Delhi Capital Team (DC), the Punjab Kings (PBKS) could not retain their captain.

As for Rohit, his record as the captain of the Mumbai Indians (MI) inspired the confidence of fans and experts. Since India has failed to win ICC events in the past eight years, he will face pressure to deliver, but Mumbai is likely to be the right person to lead the white ball game system.

KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma
Picture: Twitter

His first mission as ODI captain will be the upcoming South Africa Tour, where they will play 3 ODI series. The same team has not been announced, but the test team has been announced, in which Rohit was appointed as the deputy captain, at the expense of Ajinkya Rahane.

India South Africa Tour Test Team:

Willard Kolly (Captain), Rohit Sharma (Deputy Captain), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (week), Wriddhiman Saha (week), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Syrah, Maryland.

Please also read – Ravi Shastri revealed that Rohit Sharma was appointed as the white team captain

s.parentNode.insertBefore(t,s)}(window, document,’script’,
fbq(‘init’, ‘944637919386237’);
fbq(‘track’, ‘PageView’);

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button