Cricket News

ICC announces the complete schedule and groups of the Men’s Under-19 Cricket World Cup in 2022

this International Cricket Council (ICC) The complete schedule and groups of the upcoming Men’s Under-19 Cricket World Cup in the West Indies have been announced.

16 countries/regions will participate in the biennial tournament, which includes 48 games. All games will be played in four venues-Saint Kitts and Nevis (Warner Park), Guyana (Guyana National Stadium), Trinidad and Tobago (Brian Lara Cricket Ground) and Antigua And Barbuda (Brian Lara Cricket Ground)-from January 14th to February 5th.

Defending champion Bangladesh is in Group A with Canada, England and the United Arab Emirates.

India will be runner-up in 2020 and will be in Group B with Ireland, South Africa and Uganda.

Afghanistan, Pakistan, Zimbabwe and Papua New Guinea are in group C, while the host West Indies, Australia, Sri Lanka and Scotland form the last group D.

New Zealand chose to withdraw from the multi-team tournament because they must face mandatory isolation restrictions after returning home. Therefore, Scotland replaced New Zealand with a wildcard entry.

When the schedule was announced, the person in charge of ICC activities, Chris Tetley Said: “The ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup is such an exciting and special event that brings together the future stars of the sport and provides them with an unparalleled experience of competing on the global stage.”

“Many of the best players have participated in the U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup, including Virat Kohli, Babar Azam, Joe Root and Shimron Hetmyer. We look forward to the 2022 game and see who will become the stars of the future,” He added.

ICC Under-19 Men’s World Cup 2022 schedule:

ICC U19 2022 World Cup schedule (Image source: ICC)

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button