Soccer News

2022 AFC Women’s Asian Cup: India is in Group A

On Thursday, in the 2022 AFC Women’s Asian Cup Group A draw in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, the Indian women’s national team will fight alongside China, Chinese Taipei and Iran. The competition will start on January 20, 2022, and the final will be on February 6, 2022.

In their ninth final, this is the second time India has hosted the event since 1979, when they finished runner-up in Chinese Taipei. India also finished runner-up in the Thailand final in 1983, when the host was crowned champion after finishing third in 1981.

Among the Indian team, the Chinese team won eight championships. The last time it won was in 1999, the Islamic Republic of Iran advanced to the finals for the first time since 2006.

The 2022 tournament has expanded to 12 teams, divided into three groups, each with four teams. The defending champion Japan will win the third consecutive championship in Group C, while the 2010 champion Australia will enter Group B.

The 2022 AFC Women’s Asian Cup will have 5 direct participants, directly participating in the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup to be held in Australia and New Zealand, and the two teams ranked second in the playoffs will also represent Asia. International Federation playoff matches.

Results of the 2022 AFC Women’s Asian Cup draw:

Group A: India, China PR, Chinese Taipei, IR Iran
Group B: Australia, Thailand, Philippines, Indonesia
Group C: Japan, South Korea, Vietnam, Myanmar

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button